C5W1_About the standard RNNs

In Course 5 Week 1, Andrew introduced the standard RNNs before introducing GRUs and LSTM. However, as I studied online, there are two types of standard RNNs: Elman networks and Jordan networks. I think the standard RNNs expressions in this course are the same with the Elman network. Is the standard RNNs here actually the Elman network (although Andrew didn’t explicitly state it)? Thank you.

Hey @ZikunTan,
I never heard the term Elman and Jordan with respect to RNNs, so, thanks for that. I checked out the Wikipedia page of RNNs to help me answer this question, which you can check out here.

In the “Architectures” section, you will find that Fully recurrent, LSTM, and GRU are listed as separate architectures than the Elman networks and Jordan networks, and I suppose Prof Andrew has discussed the former only in the course, leaving the latter, i.e., the standard RNNs taught by Prof are fully recurrent neural networks and not simple recurrent networks (another name for Elman and Jordan networks).

Now, under what conditions a fully RNN becomes a simple RNN, you may search it on the web. Let me know if this helps.

Cheers,
Elemento

Hey @ZikunTan,
@anon57530071 pointed out some possible discrepancies in my answer. Please give me some time to review my answer and update it. I will let you know once I am done.

Cheers,
Elemento

Hello Elemento:

I also got the concepts of Elman network and Jordan network from Wikipedia page. But my understanding is different: I think it means both Elman and Jordan networks are types of standard RNN. What Andrew introduced in the lecture is actually Elman network though he didn’t state it explicitly. Many literatures don’t mention the terms ‘Elman’ and ‘Jordan’ and just say ‘standard RNN’. I am not fully sure whether my understanding is correct but it makes sense for me. Anyway, any different understandings are welcomed, thanks.