Which box would you put this project in?

Hi there!

I’m new to the AI world and I’m just taking the Stanford/Coursera 3 courses block. I know I have to go through that but I also have a problem to solve that I don’t know “the box to put it in”… Maybe you could point me in the right direction or at least away from the wrong ones! :wink:

I don’t want you to solve it! Just a headlight on where to look next if possible. This may be a “long” explanation but making it shorter wouldn’t make it clear enough…

I’m automating processes for a client and, after all the reasonable things have been automated, now we’ve got to the wish list state where we have this problem…

He’s an urbanist and uses two different languages to describe the streets “geography” when “cut” from side walk to side walk. One is like using LEGO bricks with a different color for every “use” (like a side walk, a bus lane or a row of trees in the side walk) with at least one parameter to say its width. The other language is a sort of “text description” of the same street.

An example would be having a 10 meters wide street and having, from left to right, a 2 meters side walk, a 1 meter wide row of trees, a 3 meters wide bus lane, a 1 meter wide bike lane, a 1 meter wide row of trees and a 3 meters wide sidewalk we could have both a LEGO row of bricks like:

gray 2 units wide, green 1 unit, red 3 units, yellow 1 unit, green 1 unit and grey 3 units.

Or its text version:

SideWalk(2)/Tree(1)/Bus(3)/Bike(1)/Tree(1)/SideWalk(3).

We have already coded around 1700 streets this way.

Then we make a proposal with the changes to be made to the current street distribution in order to make it more “human friendly” so we have 1700 pairs of “before and after” situations.

Here comes the project: We’d like to implement “something” to learn from the (mostly coherent and repetitive) decisions made designing the new streets distribution so “it” can propose a draft of the new distribution for new streets we feed it.