Wk2 A2 Merge into Model Global Variable error

I have passed through wk2 programming exercises 1-7 but am stuck on 8. Like another student I keep getting error Data Type Mismatch and Wrong Shape and Wrong Output. The advice says Check your equations and avoid using global variables. I can’t see that I’m using global variables, and the previous tests passed for all the functions that I’m using (initialize, optimize, etc) but I am new to python - can you point me to guidance on global variables so that I can see what is wrong?

Hi @wayneh,

Which course is this in (Course 1-5)?

Best,
Petri

It sounds like this is the Logistic Regression assignment in C1 W2. If you are getting the shape mismatch error on model_test it most likely means you are “hard coding” or making fixed assumptions about the dimensions of the input. One way to do that is to reference the global variable num_px in the call to initialize_with_zeros from model. The point is that we are writing general code here which should work for any input dimensions. The model for variable scoping in python is pretty standard with the function being the unit of local scope, which is to say there are no “blocks” as in some other languages. For our purposes here, you should only reference the parameters of the function or other variables that are defined within the scope of the function itself.