Ask for suggestions on Classes to take beyond taking Deep Learning Specialization

I am a Hardware Engineer (RTL micro architect) in the area of micro processor and inference accelerator. To prepare myself to work on machine learning area, I took three Specializations which gave me a basic understanding of this field. I am very grateful and appreciated for mentors who provide the high quality help and support. same for the wonderful lectures.

1. Deep Learning Specialization (l am at c5w4 transformer)
  2. Machine Learning Specialization
  3. Python3 Specialization

However, in the industry nowadays, ML is belong to software. Hardware team does not do much directly related to ML. In order to get into the machine learning field, I guess that I have to walk through a project cycle or do a end-to-end project myself.

Is there a class provide this experience and what pre-requisite needed for it ?
thank you for the advices.

Hardware for deep learning primarily uses GPUs. None of DLAI’s courses cover GPU technology.

All of the courses include practical labs. You can apply that knowledge to datasets that you can find online for free, to practice your skills,

I haven’t taken any courses here that involve full end-to-end projects. One thing you could do would be take a look at some of the Kaggle challenges. Here’s a thread that links to some of the ones that they have more for learning as opposed to competing. If you feel confident after reading or even working through a couple of those, you could try one of the active competitions.

If you are doing chip development h/w projects, you probably are already familiar with the equivalent of software project management, I would think. It’s been 20 years since I’ve been at a company that does h/w, so my knowledge is probably out of date. I remember it being a lot like writing programs, except that you’re writing them in VHDL instead of c or C++. :nerd_face:

2 Likes