Dataset split using Unique patients IDs

Good morning everyone,

Excuse my simple question, as I am new to the coding world,

I am trying to work on the original dataset CXR-8 on my own.
But I don’t know how to split the dataset into train/valid/test based on unique patients ID
Can anyone help me with a proper code. Please
Many thanks in advance.

you can use scikit-learn for test train splitting.

from sklearn.model_selection import train_test_split
train, test = train_test_split(df, test_size=0.2)

You can see inputs for this API here in this link, or you can use ImageGenerator() from tensorflow.

so what about the validation set?
how to create it, shall I add it to the code?
train, valid, test = train_valid_test_split or something like this

As said by @me_sajied, the train_test_split in scikit-learn will work.

If you need train, test and also valid dataset, split the test data into two by setting appropriate test_size in the next line.

1 Like

In a more simpler way,

First split the data into two, train and test_sample - Now you have 2 data.

Keep train and split the test_sample again
In the next line split the test_sample into two, test and valid. By this you will get three datasets. Mention test_size accordingly.

1 Like

I really thank you @bharathikannan For the clarification, that’s really helpful :smiley:

1 Like

One approach might be that if your unique patient id is an integer and can also be used as an index of a list. The other approach would be to use Dataframe and use conditions to match your unique patient id to split your data. Pandas is very useful in that regards.

Many Thanks @sbansal793 for you reply.
Can you please elaborate more?
the patient IDs are integers yes they are serial integer numbers from 1 to 1335
and each one id is repeated on average 3 times.
I used the train_test_split from scikit_learn
and then removed the overlapping patients between the train-test-valid sets,
but it ended up losing many samples> 1000.