Image log classification problem

Hello everyone, I am a newbie in deep learning. I have been following Prof Andrew’s YouTube broadcasts and in the 4th week of the deep learning course on Cousera.

Please I need help on a problem I encountered while working on a project on image recognition of geophyscal well logs.

I decided to try out logistics regression first but the algorithm fails to converge at every trial. I always get a Nan value for the cost function just after the first iteration. When I tried computing the problem one after the other… I found out that the algorithm keeps getting an overflow on the exp in the sigmoid function immediately after the first iteration.

My image data is normalized and I have tried 64×64, 150×150 and even 1000×1000 resolutions of the images but the result is still same…

I really want to find out the problem … any help?

It’s great that you are trying to apply the ideas from the courses to a new problem!

The first question would be how you did the data normalization. What are the pixel values in your raw input data and what algorithm did you use for “normalization”? Also I assume you are starting with zero as the initial values for your weights and bias, right? In the case of Logistic Regression (unlike real Neural Networks), you don’t need “symmetry breaking” in the initialization.

Note that the usual cause of NaN is “saturating” the output of sigmoid so that it rounds to exactly 0 or 1, which then causes the loss function compute log(0) and then do arithmetic with the result. It turns out to be pretty easy to saturate sigmoid on the positive side: sigmoid(37.0) will do it in float64.

The next thing to check would be to make sure your gradient calculations are correct. Did you write the code from scratch or are you using an implementation that (say) passes the tests in the Logistic Regression Assignment in DLS C1 W2?

Thank you for the reply!