Vectorization: Comparing R and Python Question

So I am fairly new to Python and fairly well aquatinted with R but fully self taught. As a result I don’t know all of the inner workings behind the curtains in certain functions.

I was just introduced to vectorization in DeepLearning.AI. Is anyone else here well enough aquatinted with R to be able to tell me if np.array()'s optimization is similar to R’s purrr::map() or, more likely, furrr::future_map()?

If anyone else is curious, I will do a simple, tictoc test on purrr/furrr and post the results back here.

Update

It appears part of the answer is simpler than I thought. I had forgotten that R has built in vectorization in its structure. I am not sure how this scales out to parallel processing yet but here are my Python and R chunks and their timed outputs.

Python

import time

a = np.random.rand(1000000)
b = np.random.rand(1000000)

tic = time.time()
c = np.dot(a,b)
toc = time.time()

print ("Vectorized version:" + str(1000*(toc-tic)) +"ms")

c = 0
tic = time.time()
for i in range(1000000):
  c += a[i]*b[i]
toc = time.time()

print("For loop:" + str(1000*(toc-tic)) +"ms")

Output

Vectorized version:54.151296615600586ms
For loop:676.0082244873047ms

R

a <- runif(1000000,0,1)
b <- runif(1000000,0,1)

c = 0
tictoc::tic()
c = sum(a * b)
tictoc::toc()

c = 0
tictoc::tic()
  for (i in 1:length(a)) {
    c = a[i]*b[i] + c
  }
tictoc::toc()

Output

Vectorized version: 0.013 sec elapsed
For loop:0.065 sec elapsed

1 Like

Hi, Bryan.

Interesting questions and interesting results! I did learn R quite a while ago when I was taking the Johns Hopkins Data Science series, but that was years ago and I’ve forgotten everything I might have known. I don’t remember furrr or purrr at all.

So you get a big win from vectorization in both cases, but notice that the results seem to show that R is just fundamentally faster. If you convert everything to milliseconds, then the comparison is:

Vectorized: 54 ms in numpy and 13 ms in R