Advice for Deep Learning Engineer without PhD looking to move to research-based roles

I am an NLP Engineer in London, UK, with a strong practical working knowledge of deep learning libraries, such as HuggingFace transformers, as well as a good understanding of underlying algorithmic structures. I am currently looking to transition from production based roles, to roles involving a purer research, aimed at publications and improving the state of the art. However, I do not have a PhD, I only have a bachelor and masters degrees, and most job advert for Research Scientist and Research Engineer positions require a PhD and a publication history. What advice would you have for someone in my shoes, to best position myself for such roles, short of taking a PhD?

I am an independent researcher and I need a person like this to help me write a research paper on a new faster way of doing AI & ML. I call this system the Progressive Logic Unit Subroutine, or PLUSr for short. It runs hundreds of times faster than today’s state-of-the-art systems. The cat assignment we did in class in week 4, the PLUSr ran it from beginning to end in under 1.5 minutes with an accuracy for the test set of 78%. I know the accuracy is a little less than the class’s 80, but for the speed of hundreds of times faster, it’s worth it to be able to run it in real time.

Edward G. Fleming

Hey @andrea22!

It can be challenging to transition to a pure research role without a Ph.D. However, there are still ways to position yourself for these roles. Here are a few recommendations for you:

1. Build a strong portfolio: Even without a Ph.D., you can demonstrate your expertise by building a portfolio of projects that showcase your skills and abilities. This can include personal projects, publications, open-source contributions, and other relevant work.