Help please - New to python, ML and Jupyter - Week 2 Assignment

Hello all,

I am incredibly excited to start my ML journey, however, I am brand new to ML, coding, Python, basically all of it.

I have passed all the tests but I am having trouble with the week 2 practice lab as it appears to require some coding skills.

In this section:

Compute cost with some initial values for paramaters w, b

initial_w = 2
initial_b = 1

cost = compute_cost(x_train, y_train, initial_w, initial_b)
print(type(cost))
print(f’Cost at initial w: {cost:.3f}')

Public tests

from public_tests import *
compute_cost_test(compute_cost)

I get this error:

NameError Traceback (most recent call last)
in
3 initial_b = 1
----> 5 cost = compute_cost(x_train, y_train, initial_w, initial_b)
6 print(type(cost))
7 print(f’Cost at initial w: {cost:.3f}')

in compute_cost(x, y, w, b)
29 for i in range(m):
30 # Your code here to get the prediction f_wb for the ith example
—> 31 f_wb = h = a * b + c
32 # Your code here to get the cost associated with the ith example
33 cost = (f_wb - y[i]) ** 2

NameError: name ‘a’ is not defined

I am not sure how to proceed or where to start. Any help would be much appreciated as I am banging my head against a wall here.

TY

Adding two screenshots as that may help

{moderator edit: code removed}

Hello There, I run into similar error messages before, then I realized that I needed to run/execute each line by pressing shift and Enter simultaneously on each line of code from the beginning

then another press “shift + Enter” again when you get to the next line…

you get the idea?

@Tdogg7272,
The error you’re seeing, “name a is not defined” tells you that you’re trying to use a variable called a without having defined what a is by including a line like: a = <some value>