HVAC engineer trying to figure out how to apply ML algorithm to detect equipment failure

Hi, I am an HVAC engineer by profession. During my course of work I found that there is a strong need for understanding the design and specification of chillers behind the performance enhancement using data analytics. I wish to create a model using Supervised Machine learning and Deep learning for generation of fault detection before equipment failure and energy conservation.Those interested can share your thoughts.

Currently pursuing MS in Data Science & Machine Learning from Woolf Malta. Any suggestions/guidance would be appreciated to reach my goal or further study.

Regards
Tameem islam

2 Likes

Do you have access to a set of data that you could use to train a predictive model?

3 Likes

I know nothing about HVAC but my first question/thought would be: define your variables. What data do you have and can you measure ? And if there is a factor you feel is important, yet not presently easy to measure, define/come up with a means that data can be collected. Defining your variables will also help with model selection.

4 Likes

To the best of my understanding, what you ask about is called predictive maintenance and has been an area of study for quite a long time - at least a decade. Give the interweb a search and you will find many IT (eg IBM) and industrial automation (eg Siemans AG) companies very active in this field.

3 Likes

@Tameem_Islam I also wish I knew better how this applied to ML, yet I do not. Though the PID (Proportional–integral–derivative) algorithm could be useful for your use case and is maybe something to look up.

2 Likes

The PID is commonly used to form a closed-loop control law.
I do not see how it applies to failure detection.

2 Likes

Thank you so much for taking time, the variables am considering are energy consumption, indoor air quality(IAQ), temperature, humidity, airflow.

2 Likes