[week 2] alpaca_model. Why model2.layers[4], a magic number

This question includes none code that supposed to be fulfilled by students. Only those codes from teacher’s version for the purpose of demonstration.

In the beginning of exercise 3, the code goes

arrr ha. A magic number 4.

I’m new to tensorflow. It costs me quite some time to figure out what this is about. It turns out to be connected to the alpaca_model function defined above, at least it is what I think.

So I checked the definition and I found this.

The reason for me to think so comes from the print information I got. In order to see what the hell is going on, I inserted a print function right after the first line. you can see it in the first picture.

The information I got are listed below.
Inputs corresponds to model2.layers[0].
data augmentation links to model2.layer[1].

Just when I was thinking this is it, I got the reason for the magic number 4. Then I got a hard blow.

Obviously, model2.layers[4] links to the pretrained model, because teacher’s version says so. Yet according to the picture posted above, the number should be 3. I really want to know what’s going on here.

I think those “no attribute” errors are a signal that you need to restart the kernel and re-run all of the cells in the notebook.

I recommend you look in the output for the command “summary(model2)” earlier in the notebook.

@TMosh : You ignored the root question which was: what’s up with the magic number 4??
I think the analysis made by @yuyang was extremely insightful, thanks for actually answering his questions @TMosh

Not ignored. Hinted at the answer via using the summary() report.

Thanks. It’s a valuable hint. But still needs further clearance.

This is the model2.summary() information.

Precisely as analyzed.

position 0                'InputLayer', [(None, 160, 160, 3)], 0],
position 1                ['Sequential', (None, 160, 160, 3), 0],
position 2                ['TensorFlowOpLayer', [(None, 160, 160, 3)], 0],