Generation of Circuit Schematics from PCB Board - Computer Vision & Deep Learning

Hi, I am an electronics engineer by profession. During my course of work I found that there is a strong need for understanding the design of electronics behind the PCB boards for troubleshooting and performance enhancement. I wish to create a model using Computer Vision and Deep learning for generation of circuit schematics, PCB layout drawing from PCB boards.Those interested can share your thoughts.

Thanks & Regards,
Gautam Mohan.

4 Likes

@mgautam Personally I think one of the biggest challenges with this task is to ask if there is a way to do so without X-Rays of the board-- Not only to capture surface features but hidden layers (in the PCB, not neural network sense), via’s etc. Further such a corresponding dataset would be valuable for training-- Though I’m not sure I can think of one openly available.

Or, are you thinking of only examining (limiting your set) single/dual sided boards ? That task, at least, would be much more feasible to use CV alone to deduce your netlist.

2 Likes

This effort will struggle to cope with multi-layer circuit boards. It also will not capture important details regarding the effect of the circuit board material on the a circuit’s performance.

Also be extremely careful that such a project does not violate any entity’s intellectual property rights.

1 Like

@Nevermnd Hi, Thanks for the reply. I wish to try it out for a dual sided board. Do you have reference to any project which has already been undertaken on this topic?

@mgautam Ah, honestly no-- But that is probably exactly for the reasons @TMosh points out;

I mean, for personal reasons I would say I enjoy hacking and pulling things apart to see how they work or re-engineering them for small projects. I mean if you purchased whatever it is you are working on, generally at least, I don’t think you lack the right to do that.