How to make the best of the specializations

Hi,

I am currently crediting the Deep learning Specialization, and have so far finished the first two courses.

How does one internalize the ideas and be able to implement them freely? For example, in Course 1 we built a neural network from scratch, I understand how to build a neural network and the theory behind it, but if I’m randomly told to implement it from scratch, it’s going to be very laborious to plan and code the whole model, even though I can write down the logic behind the model on paper. It seems to me like this is why there exist frameworks like TensorFlow, but am I losing out on something?

How should I make the best of my time in learning from the specialization? Is it by reading the relevant papers? Implementing each assignment from scratch or maybe something else?

Just for context, I have a master’s degree in mathematics and am hopefully going to be moving on to doctoral studies.

If you are going to apply the techniques you learn in DLS, the usual way is to use a framework like TensorFlow or PyTorch. Since you’ve finished Course 2, you have seen Prof Ng’s introduction to TensorFlow and how to apply it in at least one case. In Courses 4 and 5, you’ll continue to learn more about how to apply TensorFlow. As you have observed, Prof Ng believes that it’s important for us to understand how the algorithms actually work before we switch to using TF. He will follow the same pattern in Course 4: he’ll show us how to build a Convolutional Neural Network ourselves in python and numpy and then we’ll switch to using TensorFlow for more complex solutions. There are a couple of reasons for using this pedagogical method: