Week 2 Programming Assignment: System of Linear Equations Problem

I am new with Python and Numpy, but I think I was able to finish the week 2 assignment. All the test pass, however, when I submit my assignment to be graded I got 70%. Two problems has an error (after submission) related to the return type. The two problems are 5 and 6 and the errors are:
For problem number 5
Failed test case: Variable x_1 has incorrect type…
Expected:
<class ‘float’>,
but got:
<class ‘NoneType’
For problem number 6
Failed test case: The output of the ref_to_diagonal function has incorrect type…
Expected:
<class ‘numpy.ndarray’>,
but got:
<class ‘NoneType’>.
I have tried to resubmit already but still got the same issue.
I attached the errors from the number 6

Hi @rvaldivieso ,

Although your code passed the unit tests, but the grader uses different test to verify if your code is done correctly.
The NoneType error could be due to return value is none. To debug, put a print statement in your code to check, for example, suppose we have a variable X,

to check if the variable X has any value:
print(’ X value:', X)

to check the datatype of variable X:
print(‘datatype of X:’, type(X))

Every time you make changes to the code, do remember to rerun your code. If your notebook has been inactive for a while, then, you need to rerun your code from start.

In addition to @Kic reply (which I agree with):

When you get mysterious errors from the grader on multiple functions, it’s often a logistical issue, not necessarily an error in your code.

Among the typical causes:

• Renaming your notebook. The grader always uses the original notebook file name.
  • Trying to grade a partially completed notebook. It’s better if you complete the whole thing before grading because any “None” statements left in the notebook will make the grader unhappy.
  • Using an obsolete version of the notebook.