What defines an AI company

Andrew Ng refers to a term frequently in week 1 as “AI company”… well, what’s define an “AI company”? Do an organization have to be an “AI company” to use AI?
I work as an Enterprise Architect for a fortune 100 company in US. How can I steer my rog in a meaningful way towards that.
Thoughts?

Hi @kbhowmick , Thanks for using discourse. The idea of a “AI company” encompasses businesses that use AI as a core component of their business strategy or provide AI-based products and services. These businesses may create and implement AI algorithms, create AI-powered software, or employ AI to automate processes and decision-making or simply could be companies researching AI.

However, an organisation does not have to be a “AI company” in order to use AI. Many businesses use AI technologies to improve their products and services, automate processes, and gain insights from data. A healthcare organisation, for example, might use AI to analyse medical data and discover trends, whereas a financial services company might use AI to detect fraud and improve risk management.

In short, any company can use AI as a tool to improve their operations or products or services, but an “AI company” specifically focuses on AI as an integral part to propagate or augment their business.

As for how to steer your enterprise/company towards becoming an “AI Company” so to speak. This is discussed by Andrew Sir in further lectures as part of the AI Transformation Playbook. As an enterprise Architect you first could gain on understanding of AI and how it could help automate/propagate or augment your specific business needs. Then you could partner with data scientists to assess technical readiness and implement your precise solutions.

Hope this answers your query

2 Likes